Monday, August 24, 2015

Idiots among us

I went out for a nice ride with Shannon today. She rode Cher, and I rode Gunny. She hadn't ridden in over 3 years and so she will be sore tomorrow, and Tuesday, and I hope she doesn't need to pick anything up off the floor on weds, but Cher took care of her. Gunny wanted to buck like a dolphin when we had a brief trot/canter/leap up wolf den drive and wanted to try to race, but I knew Shannon wasn't up to that. So we were able to keep to a nice half-pass/saddle-seat quality trot up the road. As soon as we got back into the woods, he settled back onto the buckle as he always does.

Driving home was a bit interesting though. As I pulled up to the intererction of 101 and 169 the light changed. A pack of motorcyclists pulled up. They must have had a benefit ride, and two riders blocked both the left and right sides of the road so that they couldn't go. I needed to take a left but was unable to because of the motorcyclists. The blue van behind me started honking.  I am not sure if he was just an asshole, or if he really thought I was purposefully just not pulling out I front of the hundreds of motorcyclists that kept a pouring down the road. Gunny kept bouncing around in the trailer as the hundreds of loud motorcyclists sped, roaring, past us. The light above us kept changing but the motorcyclists were ignoring them. Vehicles were backing up all around three sections of intersection. The idiot behind me kept honking. I yelled back that I couldn't go forward. 

Finally the motorcycles past. The lights cycled and the car on my left and right went through my cycle. I STILL needed to turn left. The oncoming traffic wasn't going to give way, so I had to wait. Idiot behind me kept honking. 

The light changed. Left and right had their turn. The light turned back to me, I finally got to go. I pulled wide and turned. Asshole behind me started to clap and hoot and holler. I guess he thought he was hilarious. He earned himself a good middle finger and the FU! I wish people could learn some patience and respect for the other people on the road. 


No comments:

Post a Comment